ACP Announces New Masters and Awardees

The Awards Committee is pleased to announce that the Board of Regents has approved the following individuals and institutions to receive College Awards and Masterships at the 2005 Annual Session. If you would like to personally congratulate any of the new awardees or Masters, please contact Amy Allen Collins, Awards Committee Administrator, at 800-523-1546, ext. 2692 (toll free), 215-351-2692 (local) or by e-mail at aallen@acponline.org.

One new award is being presented at Convocation for the first time in 2005, the Herbert S. Waxman Award for Outstanding Medical Educator. The award will recognize a physician, internal medicine interest group leader, clinical clerkship director, program director, or faculty member (no higher than the level of an associate professor of medicine) who spends a significant amount of time teaching medical students.

Please join us in congratulating all the awardees and new Masters.

John Phillips Memorial Award

John P. Phair, Chicago, Illinois

James D. Bruce Memorial Award

John Glenn Morris Jr., Baltimore, Maryland

Alfred Stengel Memorial Award

Jock Murray, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

American College of Physicians Award

Janet D. Rowley, Chicago, Illinois

Edward R. Loveland Memorial Award

Interfaith House of Chicago, Chicago, Illinois

William C. Menninger Memorial Award

No award presented this year.

Distinguished Teacher Award

Edward C. Lynch, Houston, Texas

Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Foundation Award #1

Ruth M. Parker, Atlanta, Georgia

Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Foundation Award #2

Eric E. Whitaker, Chicago, Illinois

Ralph O. Claypoole Sr. Memorial Award

Alva Bowen Weir Jr., Memphis, Tennessee

Nicholas E. Davies Memorial Scholar Award

Jerome Lowenstein, New York, New York

Outstanding Volunteer Clinical Teacher Award

Vincent DelDuca Jr., Rockland, Delaware

Joseph F. Boyle Award for Distinguished Public Service

Mark B. McClellan, Washington, DC

Oscar E. Edwards Memorial Award for Volunteerism and Community Service

Mohan M. Nadkarni, Charlottesville, Virginia

Alvan R. Feinstein Memorial Award

Denis A. Evans, Chicago, Illinois

Walter J. McDonald Award for Young Physicians

Allen R. Friedland, Hockessin, Delaware

Joseph E. Johnson Leadership Award

Sherry A. Guardiano, Gaithersburg, Maryland

Herbert S. Waxman Award for Outstanding Medical Educator

Steven J. Durning, Montgomery Village, Maryland

Masterships

William M. Bennett, Portland, Oregon Harry W. Carloss, Paducah, Kentucky

George P. Chrousos, Bethesda, Maryland

Carolyn M. Clancy, Rockville, Maryland

Charles K. Francis, New York, New York

Eric P. Gall, Chicago, Illinois

William G. Gardner, Akron, Ohio

Mario Geller, Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Paul Gitman, New Hyde Park, New York

Jeffrey Glassroth, Madison, Wisconsin

Martin Goldberg, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

David B. Hellmann, Baltimore, Maryland

William L. Henrich, Baltimore, Maryland

Isabel V. Hoverman, Austin, Texas

William James Howard, Washington, DC

John P. Howe III, Washington, DC

Craig M. Kessler, Washington, DC

James P. Knochel, Dallas, Texas

Sonny Folorunso Kuku, Lagos, Nigeria

Rajiv Kumar, Rochester, Minnesota

Eric B. Larson, Seattle, Washington

Nicholas F. La Russo, Rochester, Minnesota

Edmund J. Lewis, Chicago, Illinois

Kenneth M. Ludmerer, St. Louis, Missouri

D. Joanne Lynn, Washington, DC

Milford C. Maloney, Williamsburg, Virginia

Manuel Martinez-Maldonado, Ponce, Puerto Rico

Brian J. McMahon, Anchorage, Alaska

Stephen Ray Mitchell, Washington, DC

Dwight Gregg Peretz, West Vancouver, British Columbia

John J. Popovich Jr., Birmingham, Michigan

Udaya B.S. Prakash, Rochester, Minnesota

Carlos Ramirez-Boettner, Asuncion, Paraguay

Drummond Rennie, Jacksonville, Oregon

E. Chester Ridgway, Denver, Colorado

Griffin P. Rodgers, Bethesda, Maryland

Charles Burns Roehrig, Hilton Head Island, South Carolina

Shaun Ruddy, Richmond, Virginia

Geraldine P. Schechter, Bethesda, Maryland

K. M. Mohamed Shakir, Bethesda, Maryland

John N. Sheagren, Chicago, Illinois

Joseph Silva Jr., Davis, California

Jay S. Skyler, Miami, Florida

Paul F. Speckart, San Diego, California

David H. Spodick, Worcester, Massachusetts

Abraham C. Verghese, San Antonio, Texas

Aaron I. Vinik, Norfolk, Virginia

Sterling G. West, Aurora, Colorado

Richard B. Whiting, St. Louis, Missouri

Edward T. Zawada Jr., Sioux Falls, South Dakota